“Everybody kills Hitler on their first trip…”

…is an unforgettable line from Wikihistory, a short story by Desmond Warzel that rocks. Below is the sentence in full, if that doesn’t make you want to read it, I don’t know what will!

Take it easy on the kid, SilverFox316; everybody kills Hitler on their first trip. I did. It always gets fixed within a few minutes, what’s the harm?

Steelheart is Imaginative, Action Packed, and Fun

steelheart

 

I’m currently in the middle of reading Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson and will post a review when I’m done. I will say this, if you like epic fantasy, you won’t want to miss out on Radiance. I enjoyed the Way of Kings, quite a bit and so far Words of Radiance has been even better.

This brings me to Sanderson’s Steelheart which is a fun post apocalyptic story where the superheros are evil. Steelheart, is the main villain who is supposedly invulnerable and the main character knows his weakness. A group known as the Reckoners fights and kills these evil superheros, if they can.

This quotation from the description it what sucked me in to getting the novel:

My name is David Charleston. I’m not one of the Reckoners, but I intend to join them. I have something they need. Something precious, something incredible. Not an object, but an experience. I know his secret.

I’ve seen Steelheart bleed.

Sanderson includes a number of twists and turns and I found the ending very satisfying. If you’ve never read one of his books, this is a good introduction.

Brilliance by Marcus Sakey is Stimulating and Engaging

bk_brillianceWhat would the world be like if a very small part of the population was born gifted? Superior to almost everybody else?

This is a concept that we see in many different stories but every once and awhile, a storyteller manages to tell a fresh and engaging story. Brilliance by Marcus Sakey is one such story.

Sakey spins a tale of super intelligent individuals struggling with a society that reaps the benefits they bring but doesn’t quite know what to do with them. The deceit, betrayal, and political intrigue keeps the reader engaged and thinking about the story.

While Sakey includes a number of twists in the story, the twists are well set up and foreshadowed so that none of the turns feels like it is just a twist for the purpose of keeping it interesting. By the end of the story, you will have been through an intense ride, satisfied with experience, and looking for the next book in the series.

Michael Connelly’s “The Reversal” is Gripping and Just Plain Fun

51Owq52jdDL._SL300_This week I finished listening to Michael Connelly’s The Reversal during my daily commute. Many times on the way home, the day’s issues make it hard to pay attention to an audio book. That wasn’t the case here and when I got home, I usually had to listen for a few more minutes before stopping.

If you’re familiar with Connelly’s work, you’ll know about his Hieronymus ‘Harry’ Bosch series. While I’ve been a fan of his Bosch books, I’ve plowed through his Lincoln Lawyer novels, hungry to get to the end, and hungry to start the next.

Reversal starts out with Mickey Haller being asked to switch sides from the defense and play the part of the prosecutor. For fans of Bosch, Harry is a main character in the book as well. The viewpoints alternate between Bosch and Haller smoothly. Connelly does a superb job handling the transitions and highlighting the distinctions between his two protagonists. It’s fun to switch between the two and get their very different take on the same thing. I’d recommend the audio book based on the narration alone, Peter Giles breaths enough life into his reading to keep the story tense and realistic.

Review: Promise of Blood: Sucks you in and hard to put down

PoB-new-color-e1370628441150I recently finished reading Brian McClellan’s Promise of Blood. I bought it one night after reading a review from Howard Tayler, who highly recommended it. One look at the cover tagline–“The age of kings is dead, and I have killed it”–and I knew I was in trouble.

I was sucked in immediately and found it hard to put down. I thoroughly enjoyed the magic system, story telling, twists, and turns.  It’s easily one of the best books I’ve read so far this year.

The characters are memorable and believable, but what I enjoyed most the was gripping way I was sucked into the world. McClellan does an expert job of creating a world where it feels like anything can happen.